Hoesung Lee



Dr. Hoesung Lee is the President of Carbon Free Alliance and a Special Ambassador for Carbon Free Energy, Republic of Korea. The Caron Free Alliance is an organization launched in October 2023 by the Korean government as a public and private sector platform to promote carbon free energy globally to support climate solution and economic growth.

Dr. Lee was Chair of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) 6th Assessment (2015-2023). He is an economist by training in the fields of climate change, energy and sustainable development. He serves as chair of the Asian Development Bank President's Advisory Board on Climate Change and Sustainable Development. He was the founding president of the Korea Energy Economics Institute — a government agency for national energy policy development. He was distinguished research fellow at the Korea Environment Institute, senior adviser to the Minister of Energy and Resources and the Minister of Environment, senior fellow at the Korea Development Institute and economist at Exxon Company USA. He served as the president of the International Association for Energy Economics, president of the Korea Resources Economics Association, member of the Board of Directors of the Korean Academy of Environmental Sciences, International Advisory Board of the Battelle-Pacific Northwest National Lab, USA, the Board of Directors of Hyundai Corporation and the Institute for Global Environmental Strategies, Japan, and the Council of the Global Green Growth Institute. He was Co-Chair of the IPCC Working Group III (the economic and social dimensions of climate change) for the Second Assessment which provided a scientific basis for the UNFCCC's Kyoto Protocol. He served as Vice-Chair of IPCC 2008-2015, and lead author and review editor for the various IPCC assessments. He received his B.A. from Seoul National University and Ph.D. in economics from Rutgers University, USA. He was named to the 2019 TIME 100 Most Influential People in the World. He received the Outstanding Contributions to the Profession Award 2020 from the International Association for Energy Economics. He was named to the 2021 Bloomberg 50 List.